Thursday, May 19, 2011

The Intwasa Short Story Competition 2011

The Intwasa Short Story Competition is an annual literary event seeking to promote original creative writing talent in both English and Isindebele.

The competition has two awards: the Yvonne Vera award for best short story in English; and, the N. S. Sigogo award for best short story in iSindebele. The prize for each award will be US$500.

There is also a junior section of the competition open to high school students in Zimbabwe. The prizes for the junior sections will be US$200 for each award.

The English Award is named after the late Dr. Yvonne Vera who is arguable one of the best writers writing in English to emerge out of Bulawayo and Zimbabwe as a whole.

The Ndebele award is named after Ndabezinhle S. Sigogo. Mr. N. S. Sigogo was a prolific writer and probably the most published Ndebele writer with over two dozen publications to his name.

The Short Story Competition is supported by Hivos, Africalia Belgium, Rural Libraries and Resources Development Programme (RLRDP) and Turn Up College.

The deadline for submission for the short story competition is 15 July 2011.

Adult stories should not be more than 3,000 words.

The maximum words for junior stories should be 1,500.

Stories can be sent to or

Hard copies can be sent to:
403 Fourth Floor
LAPF House
8th Avenue and Jason Moyo Street
Stories should be clearly marked Senior or Junior Section.

For more information about Intwasa Arts Festival koBulawayo, visit

No comments: